The Bethlehem College House System


The Bethlehem House System enriches college student life by fostering a community that promotes spiritual growth, academic flourishing, and leadership development. Each incoming college student is assigned to a gender-specific, non-residential “house,” which meets regularly to deepen friendships and strengthen each other’s faith through life together, events, and competition with other houses. We are trying to shape you into a certain kind of person. These houses were named by student founders after historic figures who exemplify the life of Christian witness—with wisdom and wonder—that we aim to inspire.

Theologian and Philosopher

Ordered Love, Chastity, and Friendship

Jonathan Edwards
Revivalist Preacher

Steadfastness, Honor, and Joyful Service

C. S. Lewis
Author and Christian Apologist

Courage, Meekness, and Joy

Anne Dutton
Poet and Calvinist Writer on Religion

Honesty, Humility, and Hospitality


Honesty, Confidence, and Faithfulness

Elisabeth Elliot
Missionary and Author

Wholeheartedness, Modesty, and Grit

Purpose and Mission

The College House System exists to serve the mission of Bethlehem College & Seminary by fostering a community that promotes spiritual growth, academic flourishing, and leadership development. Or, to put it another way, the aim of the House System is to promote Christian discipleship, the formation of mature Christian adults in the college programs.


In the spring of 2017, a group of Bethlehem College & Seminary faculty and staff met with a team of college students to dream about how to improve the college experience at Bethlehem. By the summer of 2018, the first six houses were created and the House System officially launched in the fall of the same year.

What Is the House System?

The House System is a group of six gender-specific, non-residential “houses” of 15—20 students per house. Each house is a coherent identity, not a physical residence, associated with a historical figure who represents values and ethos cherished at Bethlehem.

Houses meet regularly to deepen relationships, encourage academic and spiritual flourishing, and compete with the other houses in a variety of athletic, artistic, and academic competitions. While participating in college-wide events and competitions, each house aims to develop its own unique life together.

Every spring each house elects its own officers: Head of House, Steward, and Advocate. At least one invested mentor (or couple) connected to the college serves as House Advisor, offering additional guidance and training. The House Advance Team, a group of faculty and staff, oversees the entire House System providing vision and long-term planning.

Since every incoming student is sorted into a house for the duration of their college career at Bethlehem, the House System is at the heart of student life. During the college years, houses provide a consistent community, offer a sense of identity, and cultivate a delight in friendly competition.